Youth Soccer Team Names

Mexican Soccer Team Names


In Mexico the top soccer league is Primera División and consists of 18 teams. The founding members in the league were Atlas, Orizaba, Veracruz Sporting Club, Guadalajara, América, Asturias, Atlante, Real España, CD Marte and Moctezuma when it was formed in 1943. Today the Primera Division is considered one of the top ten to twenty leagues in the world. Below are the current soccer team names of the teams and we included nicknames this go around since some of them make for a good laugh.

  • Pachuca  The Gophers
  • Puebla  The Sash
  • Querétaro  The White Roosters
  • San Luis  The Gladiators
  • Estudiantes Tecos  The Owls
  • Tigres de la UANL  The Tigers
  • Universidad Nacional  The Cougars
  • América  The Eagles
  • Atlante  The Iron Colts
  • Atlas  The Foxes
  • Guadalajara  The Sacred Herd
  • Cruz Azul  The Blue Machine
  • Jaguares de Chiapas  The Jaguars
  • Monarcas Morelia  Monarchs
  • Monterrey  The Striped Ones
  • Santos Laguna  The Saints
  • Tijuana  The Aztec Dogs
  • Toluca  Red Devils

Like many other soccer leagues in the world, Mexico has a system of relegation. In this case, one team each year is moved up from second division to first.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.